Thursday, June 13, 2013

QUOTATION: The Nine Orders of Angels

Formatted for easier reading:

But although all the angels are doubtless most happy, and wonderfully resplendent with the glory of every divine gift, yet those are called

"Seraphim" who burn with the flames of love:
the others "Cherubim" who shine with the splendour of knowledge

those are named " Thrones" who enjoy an inexpressible tranquillity in the divine contemplation:

those "Dominations" who rule this lower world, as the ministers of a mighty commander:

others "Powers," because they do signs and wonders by the command of their Almighty Lord:

others "Principalities," because they have power over the kings and princes of the world:

some again are named "Archangels," because they assist the prelates of the Church:

and many, in fine, are called " Angels," since they are the guardians and protectors of all that live upon the earth.

--St. Robert Bellarmine, The Eternal Happiness of the Saints